This preview has been provided by Mallarmé Chamber Players.

Mallarmé Chamber Players will present a concert of chamber works by Mozart, Brahms and Ravel at an afternoon concert in St. Joseph’s Hall at the historic Hayti Heritage Center on Sunday, April 10, 2011. Mallarmé is pleased to be able to partner with the Cary Cross Currents Chamber Music Arts Festival to bring in violist and festival organizer Neil Leiter to perform with Mallarmé musicians on this program. Mr. Leiter, a Raleigh native, is currently a member of the Brussels Chamber Orchestra and resides in Belgium.

“We’re excited to bring this classical program of ‘music by the masters’ to Hayti Heritage Center. The acoustics of St. Joseph’s Hall are perfect for chamber music,” said Suzanne Rousso, artistic director of Mallarmé. “Durham has traditionally heard blues and jazz at Hayti; we thought it would be a great way to let our audience know that this national historical landmark is also a wonderful venue for chamber music.”

Tickets are $18 in advance; $20 at the door. Student tickets are $5 with valid I.D.; educators also receive a special discount of $15 with I.D. Online purchases through; phone orders can be placed by calling (919) 560-2788.

“By presenting Mozart & More in St. Joseph’s Hall, an historical African American cultural and educational institution in the Durham community, we’re increasing awareness about chamber music while simultaneously introducing concertgoers to quality performance spaces all over Durham” said Ms. Rousso. Mallarmé Chamber Players, founded in 1984, is a flexible ensemble of professional musicians based in Durham that distinguishes itself in the Triangle community by its innovative educational programs, its commitment to creative collaboration with other organizations, its creation of significant new work and its dedication to serve a diverse population.

MOZART & MORE  – Chamber Music by the Masters

Mallarmé presents a concert of rarely performed chamber music by Mozart, Ravel and Brahms.


W.A. Mozart: Quintet in E-flat Major for horn and strings, K. 407

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for violin and cello

Johannes Brahms: Quintet in G Major for strings, Op. 111


Eric Pritchard and Jeremy Preston, violin
Neil Leiter and Suzanne Rousso, viola
Nate Leyland, cello
Rachel Niketopoulos, horn