This preview was provided by Ciompi Quartet.

The Duke Department of Music and the Ciompi Quartet are pleased to announce the 2017 Ciompi Quartet Presents summer chamber music series celebrating its sixth season at Duke Gardens. Ciompi Quartet Presents is a musical series featuring the expected and the unanticipated. Expected are the long-appreciated performances by musicians known personally by the audience for excellence in artistry, virtuosity and musicality. Unanticipated is a series that is relentlessly novel, engaging and enjoyable. Individual ensemble players will delight the audience with an excitement that can only be achieved in the intimate setting offered by Duke Gardens’ Kirby Horton Hall. Eric Pritchard will be joined by pianist James Tocco for a program of some of their favorite works from the violin sonata repertoire. Jonathan Bagg will offer a program for flute, viola and piano that draws on a deep and persistent vein of romanticism from Bach to the 20th century. Fred Raimi will close the summer’s series with a family affair by performing with his brother violinist Max Raimi, pianist Mimi Solomon*, and family friend, violinist Nicholas DiEugenio. Join us and be delighted and inspired by the 2017 Ciompi Quartet Presents chamber music series at Duke Gardens.

Subscriptions are $60. Purchase subscription tickets online beginning May 1. Single tickets are $25 General Public; $20 Non-Duke Students/Duke Employees; $10 Youth/Duke students. Purchase single tickets online beginning May 15. Tickets may be purchased at the Duke University Box Office, Bryan Center, Upper Level. The box office is open weekdays 11am-6pm, or you may call 919-684-4444. The box office accepts cash, check, credit cards and Duke Card FLEX payments.

All concerts begin at 7:30pm and will take place in Kirby Horton Hall in the Doris Duke Center at Sarah P. Duke Gardens, 420 Anderson St, Durham, NC 27708. Call 919-684-3698 for directions.

Ciompi Quartet Presents is sponsored by the Department of Music, Sarah P. Duke Gardens and the Ciompi Quartet Fund.

*Jane Hawkins is replaced by Mimi Solomon.