This preview has been provided by earspace.

October 8, 2017 at 7:30 p.m. in the galleries of CAM Raleigh is the inaugural performance of Raleigh’s newest contemporary performance ensemble, earspace. This performance seeks to tap into the unique energy and spatial possibilities of CAM Raleigh. Pulitzer Prize winning composer David Lang and Grammy award winning composer Kaija Saariaho will be featured on the program along with a uniquely immanent work by Christopher Cerrone.

Tickets are available online at and are $10. Student tickets are available for $5. Tickets purchased at the door will be $15.

earspace is an ensemble dedicated to creating invigorating multi-sensory performances of music worth believing in. They seek to expose the inherent potentials within every moment and space, cultivating visceral reactions unique to every manifestation. Through their projects, they explore the extremities of contemporary performance and work to bring audiences closer to the music they experience.

earspace was founded by musicians native to the Triangle who returned to the area after graduate school. They were inspired by their studies to bring extraordinary contemporary classical music and invigorating performance practice to their home town.

You can read more about the group and its mission at

The ensemble has proven their ability to program fascinating and exciting performances through concerts at private venues and a widely-attended show in Raleigh’s Google Fiber Space. October 8 will be their inaugural public concert and the beginning of their 2017-18 season.


South Catalina by Christopher Cerrone

Tocar by Kaija Saariaho

child by David Lang

This performance explores the unique spatial possibilities of CAM Raleigh. The ensemble will distribute performers around the museum’s interior in order to amplify the energy of the unique space and time of the pieces.

Christopher Cerrone’s music is characterized by a subtle handling of timbre and resonance, a deep literary fluency, and a flair for multimedia collaborations. South Catalina features quasi-improvisation and spatialization so will exist uniquely in its moment of performance. Musicians distributed around the room will react to one another and to the space to create the mesmerizing sonorities of this composition.

Kaija Saariaho is a prominent Finnish composer who is making a worldwide impact. She was recently honored as the first female composer to have a work staged by the Met Opera in over a century. The composer describes Tocar as ‘a magnetism becoming stronger and stronger’ as the two instruments (violin and piano) play around each other. In this way, the two musicians are exploring the different kind of space that forms, expands, and contracts between duet partners.

Passionate, prolific, and complicated, composer David Lang embodies the restless spirit of invention. Lang is at the same time deeply versed in the classical tradition and committed to music that resists categorization, constantly creating new forms. child is the epitome of Lang’s style. It is equal parts intriguing, mesmerizing, and exciting.

The 2017-18 earspace season also includes a more intimate performance of experimental works at Imurj on First Friday, February 2 and a residency at the UNC Chapel Hill March 19-23. More information about these and other earspace performances can be found at