This preview has been provided by the North Carolina Symphony.

The North Carolina Symphony will perform Antonín Dvořák’s New World Symphony Friday, Jan. 23, 2015 and Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015, at 8 p.m. in Meymandi Concert Hall in the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in downtown Raleigh.  The concerts, led by Carlos Miguel Prieto, will also include Manuel de Falla’s “Three-Cornered Hat,” featuring mezzo-soprano Kate Farrar.

Widely celebrated as a rising star in the U.S. and his native Mexico, Carlos Miguel Prieto’s charismatic conducting, characterized by dynamism and the expressivity of his interpretations, has led to major engagements and popular acclaim throughout North America and in Europe. Prieto is in great demand as a guest conductor with many of the top North American orchestra including Boston, Cleveland, Dallas, Toronto and Houston symphony orchestras and has a particularly close and successful relationship with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

North Carolina native Kate Farrar most recently performed Kate Pinkerton in Madam Butterfly and Emily in The Ballad of Baby Doe.  A graduate of the master’s program at the A.J. Fletcher Opera Institute at the North Carolina School of the Arts, Ms. Farrar performed Giulietta (Les Contes D’Hoffman), Arminda (La Finta Giardiniera), Miss Wingrave (Owen Wingrave), Meg Page (The Merry Wives of Windsor) and the Mezzo Soloist in Verdi’s Requiem. With Piedmont Opera, she has appeared as Frau Mary (Der Fliegende Holländer), Mercedes (Carmen) and Mary Warren (The Crucible). She performed selections from Tan Dun’s Marco Polo and Heggie’s Dead Man Walking, as well as a variety of Sondheim and Bernstein pieces with the Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra.

Tickets to the concert range from $18 to $75.  Student tickets are $10.  To purchase tickets, visit the North Carolina Symphony website at or call the Symphony Box Office at 919.733.2750 or toll free 877.627.6724.  Concert tickets at all performances are also available at the door one hour prior to concert start time. Meymandi Concert Hall is located in the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts, 2 E. South St., in Raleigh. 

In addition to stellar performances, North Carolina Symphony concertgoers can enjoy pre-concert talks, post-concert discussions, and “Meet the Artists,” which feature interactive conversations with guest artists and select orchestra members, at many Symphony events.  On Friday, Jan. 23, 2015, and Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015, Symphony Associate Conductor David Glover will give a talk in Swalin Lobby of Meymandi Concert Hall at 7 p.m. each night   A Symphony musician will be available to answer questions in the lower lobby at intermission both nights.

Partners for the 2014/15 Raleigh Classical Series are Clancy & Theys Construction, Duke Realty, Smith Anderson, Marriott, and 18 Seaboard.

About the North Carolina Symphony

Founded in 1932, the North Carolina Symphony gives more than 200 performances annually to adults and school children in more than 50 North Carolina counties. An entity of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, the orchestra employs 66 professional musicians, under the artistic leadership of Music Director and Conductor Grant Llewellyn, Resident Conductor William Henry Curry, and Associate Conductor David Glover.

Headquartered in downtown Raleigh’s spectacular Meymandi Concert Hall at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts and an outdoor summer venue at Booth Amphitheatre in Cary, N.C., the Symphony performs about 60 concerts annually in the Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill and Cary metropolitan area. It holds regular concert series in Fayetteville, New Bern, Southern Pines and Wilmington — as well as individual concerts in many other North Carolina communities throughout the year — and conducts one of the most extensive education programs of any U.S. orchestra.

Concert/Event Listings:
North Carolina Symphony
New World Symphony
Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor
Kate Farrar, mezzo-soprano

Friday, Jan. 23, 2015, 8 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015, 8 p.m.
Meymandi Concert Hall, Raleigh

Program Listing
North Carolina Symphony
New World Symphony
Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor
Kate Farrar, mezzo-soprano

January 23-24, 2015

DE FALLA: El Sombrero de tres picos [Three-Cornered Hat]

  Dance of the Miller’s Wife (Fandango)
  The Grapes

  The Neighbor’s Dance (Seguidillas)
  The Miller’s Dance
  The Corregidor’s Dance
  The Final Dance
     Kate Farrar, mezzo-soprano

DVORÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor,
  Op. 95, “From the New World”
  I.    Adagio – Allegro molto
  II.   Largo
  III.  Molto vivace
  IV. Allegro con fuoco