This preview provided by Greensboro Symphony.

Celebrate the arrival of spring with the Greensboro Symphony’s April Tanger Outlets Masterworks concert, Hope Springs Eternal! This concert features the return of acclaimed cellist, Sergey Antonov, back by popular demand after his 2014 performance with the Hermitage Piano Trio. Antonov will star solo this time on crowd-favorite, the Dvorak Cello Concerto, while the Symphony performs Schumann Symphony No. 1 “Spring,” and Smetana’s popular Bartered Bride Overture.

A Gold Medal winner in the International Tchaikovsky Competition, Sergey Antonov has quickly risen to prominence in the performance world. The Washington Post has hailed him as “destined for cello superstardom,” and The Budapest Sun raves that he possesses “formidable technique with an incredibly warm, penetrating and vibrant tone to a romantic musical sensibility to create music – making of the highest caliber.”

Dvorak’s Cello Concerto is undisputedly one of the greatest pieces of music ever written for the instrument. After a false start in 1865, Dvorak did not reconsider a concerto for cello until decades later, finally publishing the work in 1895, and only then after many revisions were suggested by peers (and disregarded by Dvorak). It is now regarded as one of the most beautifully melodic and dramatic pieces in the standard cello repertoire.

By contrast, Robert Schumann’s “Spring” Symphony was sketched in only four days by the prolific German composer. Composed at the urging of his beloved soon-to-be-wife, Clara, the work embodies the longing for spring’s arrival. Schumann himself wrote “I would like the music to suggest the world is turning green, perhaps with a butterfly hovering in the air, and then…to show how everything to do with spring is coming alive.” Less widely-performed than the Dvorak, Schumann’s first symphonic effort will be a rare treat for Greensboro audiences.

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra
    Dmitry Sitkovetsky, conductor
    Sergey Antonov, cello

Tanger Outlets Masterworks Series—”Hope Springs Eternal”
    Overture to The Bartered Bride – Bedrich Smetana
    Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in B minor, Op. 104 – Antonin Dvorak
    Symphony #1 in B-flat Major, Op. 38, “Spring” – Robert Schumann

    April 07, 2016 – 8:00 p.m.
    April 09, 2016 – 8:00 p.m.

    Dana Auditorium
    5800 West Friendly Ave.
    Greensboro, NC 27410

Price: $46, $40, $34, STUDENTS $6