Visual Art



North Carolina Museum of Art (NCMA): A Modern Vision: European Masterworks from the Phillips Collection


Related Articles

Sat., Dec. 3, 2022 ( Sat., Oct. 8, 2022 - Sat., Jan. 14, 2023 )

North Carolina Museum of Art, 2110 Blue Ridge Road, Raleigh, NC 27607-6407

Program

Featuring more than 50 paintings by iconic artists including Edgar Degas, Vincent van Gogh, Edouard Manet, Claude Monet, Pablo Picasso, and Paul Cézanne from the world-renowned Phillips Collection, A Modern Vision: European Masterworks from The Phillips Collection brings artists famous for their depictions of light, color, and modern life to the North Carolina Museum of Art. Opening alongside a historic reinstallation of the NCMA’s collection, A Modern Vision showcases extraordinary paintings by titans of impressionism, postimpressionism, expressionism, and cubism, carefully collected by founder Duncan Phillips.

The Phillips Collection was America’s first museum of modern art, opening its doors in Washington, DC, in 1921 and installing works by different artists together to connect their art across time and place. A Modern Vision expresses Phillips’s belief that his museum gathered “congenial spirits among artists from different parts of the world and from different periods of time” to demonstrate “that art is a universal language.”

Notes

This exhibit will be on display from October 8, 2022 - January 22, 2023.

Please note: Paid timed-ticket admission begins Wednesday, October 12, at 10 am. A Modern Vision opens alongside the Museum’s free collection reopening weekend, October 8 and 9, when admission to the exhibition will be free.

$20 Nonmembers, $17 Seniors, $14 Youth ages 7–18. Free for children 6 and under. Free for college-age young adults Wed.–Fri., 10 am–5 pm

Cost

$14 - $20

More information

(919) 715-5923, help@ncartmuseum.org Wednesday through Sunday, from 10 am to 5 pm
https://ncartmuseum.org/series/a-modern-vision-european-masterworks-from-the-phillips-collection/

Dates

  • Saturday, October 8, 2022
  • Saturday, October 22, 2022
  • Saturday, November 5, 2022
  • Saturday, November 19, 2022
  • Saturday, December 3, 2022
  • Saturday, December 17, 2022
  • Saturday, December 31, 2022
  • Saturday, January 14, 2023