Theatre



Actor's Theatre of Charlotte: "If Pretty Hurts ..."


( Wed., Aug. 10, 2022 - Sat., Aug. 20, 2022 )

Hadley Theater, Queens University, 2132 Radcliffe Ave., Charlotte, NC 28274

Program

In a mashup of West African folklore and contemporary American culture, this provocative, hilarious new play follows four teenage girls as they grapple with societal definitions of beauty. When Akim’s classmates decide they’ll be damned before they let her be the leading lady in the story, the frenemies jockey for their rank in a culture built on ideals forever out of reach. Brimming with live music and dance, this play doesn’t ask the question “How much is beauty worth?” but rather, “Why are so many willing to pay its price?”

Cost

Dates

  • Wednesday, August 10, 2022 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, August 11, 2022 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, August 12, 2022 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 13, 2022 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, August 14, 2022 at 2:30 PM
  • Wednesday, August 17, 2022 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, August 18, 2022 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, August 19, 2022 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 20, 2022 at 8:00 PM