Theatre



Pure Life Theatre Company: Purlie


Fri., Feb. 5, 2021 at 7:30 PM ( Fri., Feb. 5, 2021 - Sun., Feb. 28, 2021 )

Pure Life Theatre Company (formerly Sonorous Road Theatre), 3801 Hillsborough St., Suite 113, Raleigh, NC 27607

Program

Look out world, Purlie is coming home! Based on the 1961 comedy Purlie Victorious by the great actor Ossie Davis, the 1970 musical Purlie is set in Georgia during the era of Jim Crow laws and deep-rooted prejudice. Purlie wants his people's rights and his own church in which to preach freely, and he sets out to get it all. In the early days of the civil rights movement Purlie comes home as a preacher who shakes things up and brings freedom to his people.
 

Cost

$

Dates

  • Friday, February 5, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 6, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 7, 2021 at 3:00 PM
  • Friday, February 12, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 13, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 14, 2021 at 3:00 PM
  • Friday, February 19, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 20, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 21, 2021 at 3:00 PM
  • Friday, February 26, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 27, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 28, 2021 at 3:00 PM