Theatre



UNC School of the Arts: POSTPONED: The Odyssey


Thu., Apr. 2, 2020 at 7:30 PM ( Thu., Mar. 26, 2020 - Sat., Apr. 4, 2020 )

Catawba Theatre, Performance Place, 1533 S Main Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27127

Program

* Postponed due to COVID-19 concerns.

At the conclusion of the Trojan War, Odysseus embarks on a 10-year journey to his home in Ithaca, hoping to reunite with his wife and son, Penelope and Telemachus, and reclaim his throne. Along the way he battles mystical creatures and faces the wrath of the gods, while at home Penelope and Telemachus fend off suitors who seek to replace Odysseus as king.

Renowned director and playwright Mary Zimmerman transformed the Greek epic of Odysseus and his journey home into a captivating play, condensing the approximately 12,000 lines of the original poem into an engaging adventure. Carlo Feliciani Ojeda, a senior in the School of Drama’s directing program, set out to make The Odyssey a theatrical experience, drawing on his heritage as an immigrant from Venezuela.

Notes

$20 general admission; $15 student

Cost

$20 - $15

More information

336-721-1945
http://www.uncsa.edu/performances

Dates

  • Thursday, March 26, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, March 27, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, March 28, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 2:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 2, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, April 3, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 7:30 PM