Music, Theatre



Theatre In The Park: The Old Man and the Old Moon


Fri., Feb. 28, 2020 at 7:30 PM ( Fri., Feb. 14, 2020 - Sun., Mar. 1, 2020 )

Performed by PigPen Theatre Co.

Theatre in the Park, 107 Pullen Road, Raleigh, NC 27607

Program

The show takes place in 1907 in a shipbuilder’s warehouse in the UK and features a group of players that put on an imaginative show with folksy musical numbers, puppetry, swordfights, flying sharks, a hot air balloon, and a lot of theatre magic. This isn’t your typical musical band either, the actors flow in and out of the “orchestra pit” joining the band or playing instruments onstage. 

The plotline follows the Old Man who has kept his post as the sole caretaker of the moon for as long as he or his wife can remember. When the Old Man’s wife is drawn away by a mysterious melody sparking memories of their shared past, the he must decide between duty and routine, and love and adventure. What follows is an imaginative sea-faring epic musical, encompassing apocalyptic storms, civil wars, leviathans of the deep, and cantankerous ghosts, as well as the fiercest obstacle of all: change.

Notes

Tickets are $33 for adults, $27 for seniors/students/military and groups of 10 or more are only $24 each. Tickets can be purchased online or by calling the box office.

Cost

$33 - $24

More information

(919) 831-6058
http://www.theatreinthepark.com

Dates

  • Friday, February 14, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, February 21, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 3:00 PM
  • Friday, February 28, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 3:00 PM