Dance



UNC School of the Arts: The Nutcracker


Related Articles

( Fri., Dec. 13, 2019 - Sun., Dec. 22, 2019 )

Performed by Sara Mearns and Russell Janzen

Stevens Center, 405 West Fourth Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101-2804

Program

UNCSA’s heralded ballet has received rave reviews from critics and enthusiastic audiences alike since the reimagined production debuted in 2009 under the direction of Ethan Stiefel, former Dean of the UNCSA School of Dance and former principal dancer with American Ballet Theatre.

Assistant Dean of Ballet Jared Redick will direct The Nutcracker with original staging and direction by Stiefel. Celebrated guest conductor Karin Hendrickson will lead the UNCSA Nutcracker Orchestra’s performance of Tchaikovsky’s music.

Notes

Mearns will become the Sugar Plum Fairy and Janzen the Cavalier Prince for two performances only: 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 18 and Thursday, Dec. 19.

Cost

$

More information

336-721-1945
http://www.unsca.edu/performances

Series

UNCSA Dance , UNCSA Design and Production , UNCSA Music

Dates

  • Friday, December 13, 2019 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 5:30 PM
  • Sunday, December 15, 2019 at 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, December 20, 2019 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, December 21, 2019 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 21, 2019 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, December 22, 2019 at 2:00 PM