Orchestral Music

Duke Performances: Curtis Symphony Orchestra

Related Articles

( Thu., Feb. 6, 2020 )

Performed by Curtis Symphony Orchestra; Osmo Vänskä, conductor, Jonathan Biss, piano

Baldwin Auditorium, 1336 Campus Drive, Durham, NC 27708


Curtis has commissioned young alumna Gabriella Smith to compose a new work for the ensemble. Jonathan Biss, another Curtis alumnus and current faculty member, joins the orchestra for Beethoven’s “Emperor” concerto, an epic struggle between the soloist and orchestra. Sibelius’ austere second symphony concludes the evening, a work of which Vänskä has proved himself a formidable interpreter.

Gabriella Smith: New Work

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 (“Emperor”)

Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, op. 43


$25, $10 Duke Students; Reserved Seating


$25 - $10


  • Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 8:00 PM