Theatre



Raleigh Little Theatre: Blood at the Root


Related Articles

( Fri., Sep. 27, 2019 - Sun., Oct. 13, 2019 )

Raleigh Little Theatre Gaddy-Goodwin Teaching Theatre, 301 Pogue Street, Raleigh, NC 27607

Program

Based on the true story of the Jena Six; six Black students who were initially charged with attempted murder for a school fight after being provoked with nooses hanging from a tree on campus. This bold ensemble drama examines the miscarriage of justice, racial double standards, the crisis in relations between men and women of all classes and, as a result, the shattering state of Black family life.

Notes

Blood at the Root employs strong language, racial slurs, and symbols of violence to accurately depict the story of the Jena Six. Parental discretion is advised.

Cost

$27 - $14

Series

Gaddy-Goodwin Series

Dates

  • Friday, September 27, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 28, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 29, 2019 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 3, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 5, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 6, 2019 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, October 11, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 12, 2019 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 3:00 PM