Orchestral Music

North Carolina Symphony: Hough Performs Brahms

Related Articles

( Fri., Jan. 24, 2020 - Sat., Jan. 25, 2020 )

Performed by North Carolina Symphony; Grant Llewellyn, conductor, Stephen Hough, piano

Meymandi Concert Hall at Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts, 2 East South Street, Raleigh, NC 27601-2337


Stephen Hough, one of the most distinguished pianists of our time, shares the tenderness and passion of Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2. This monumental concerto is paired with Schubert’s Symphony No. 4, a work that seems to suspend time with its long-arching melodies and surprising twists and turns. Grant Llewellyn opens this program with the Overture No. 1 by 19th-century French composer Louise Farrenc. 



More information



NC Symphony Raleigh Classical Series


  • Friday, January 24, 2020 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 8:00 PM