Orchestral Music

Asheville Symphony Orchestra: Masterworks 7: STRAVINSKY

Related Articles

( Sat., May. 11, 2019 )

Performed by Asheville Symphony; Darko Butorac, conductor, Simone Porter, violin

Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801


The final concert of the season features three works full of vigor and rhythmic energy. The evening begins with Márquez’s Danzón No. 2, a colorful work inspired by the sultry rhythms of Mexico’s Gulf Coast. Next, rising star violinist Simone Porter brings impassioned energy for Saint-Saens’ virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 3. The evening reaches its pinnacle with a performance of one of the most powerful pieces of orchestral music ever written: Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. Nearly one hundred musicians unite to take the audience on an unforgettable and electrifying musical journey in this rare performance.


 $24 – $69 (prices vary depending on seating section; reduced student pricing available).


$69 - $24

More information

(828) 254-7046


  • Saturday, May 11, 2019 at 8:00 PM