Orchestral Music

Asheville Symphony Orchestra: Masterworks 6: RACHMANINOFF

Related Articles

( Sun., Mar. 24, 2019 )

Performed by Asheville Symphony; Darko Butorac, conductor, Garrick Ohlsson, piano

Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801


Star pianist Garrick Ohlsson, one of the world’s foremost interpreters of Rachmaninoff's music, joins the Asheville Symphony for a program featuring two of the Russian composer's concertos. The Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini challenges both the soloist and the orchestra and is renowned for its devilish virtuosity and deeply expressive romanticism. The Second Piano Concerto may well be the best-known work for piano and orchestra ever composed, and it radiates with grand romantic melodies and lush orchestration. The concert opens by paying homage to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart himself with a performance of his Symphony No. 25, a work known for its rhythmic vitality and stormy character.


$28 – $93 (prices vary depending on seating section; reduced student pricing available).   


$93 - $28

More information

(828) 254-7046


Amadeus Festival


  • Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 4:00 PM