Orchestral Music

Asheville Symphony Orchestra: Masterworks 5: BEETHOVEN

Related Articles

( Sat., Feb. 23, 2019 )

Performed by Asheville Symphony; Mei-Ann Chen, guest conductor; Alexi Kenney, violin

Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801


The three very distinct composers presented on this concert all found great inspiration in connecting with their roots. Zoltan Kodály's Dances of Galánta are a collection of village dances reimagined as a symphonic work and transformed with colors of the modern symphony orchestra. Next, Alexi Kenney, winner of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant, brings his unique perspective to Dvorak’s Violin Concerto — full of lyricism inspired by the rich Czech folkloric tradition. The concert’s centerpiece is Beethoven’s beloved "Pastoral" symphony, which was inspired by the composer’s love of the countryside.


$24 – $69 (prices vary depending on seating section; reduced student pricing available).


$69 - $24

More information

(828) 254-7046


  • Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 8:00 PM