Public art, Visual Art



Arts Council of Winston-Salem & Forsyth County: "Particle Falls" Art Installation


( Thu., Feb. 22, 2018 - Sat., Mar. 24, 2018 )

Stevens Center, 405 West Fourth Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101-2804

Program

“Particle Falls,”  a multi-story public art light installation, will use the west wall of the Stevens Center in downtown Winston-Salem as a projection screen beginning Thursday, February 22 and ending March 24.  Free and open to the public, best viewable at dusk.  The installation created by artist and scientist Andrea Polli is an animated, colorful light projection that will reflect real-time air quality on West 4th Street using a scientific air monitoring device, specialized computer software, and a high-powered light projector.  Colored lights projected on the eight-story, west wall of the Stevens Center represent the amount of harmful particle pollution in the air at any given moment.

The public is invited to attend an Artist Talk and Panel Discussion on Friday, February 23 at 4:30 p.m. at the Milton Rhodes Center for the Arts, 251 N. Spruce Street.  The artist, Andrea Polli will discuss her work “Particle Falls.”  Panelists will include David Finn, Artist, Professor of Art, WFU & Chair of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County Public Art Commission; June Blotnick, Executive Director, Clean Air Carolina; Dr. Stephanie Dance-Barnes, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, WSSU; and Wendell Hardin, Sustainability Manager, City of Winston-Salem.  This event is free and open to the public.  RSVPs are requested to dsilver@intothearts.org.

The installation will complement Clean Air Carolina’s NC BREATHE conference that will be held March 8 at Wake Forest University Bowman Gray Center for Medical Education.  The conference is free for students and $25 for individuals.  Learn more about the conference at https://cleanaircarolina.org/ncbreathe2018/

Cost

Free

More information

dsilver@intothearts.org
http://intothearts.org

Dates

  • Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Friday, February 23, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Monday, February 26, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 28, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Friday, March 2, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Monday, March 5, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Friday, March 9, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 11, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Monday, March 12, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Friday, March 16, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 18, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Monday, March 19, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 20, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Friday, March 23, 2018 at 5:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018 at 5:00 PM