Theatre



Raleigh Little Theatre: Blood Done Sign My Name


Related Articles

( Fri., May. 11, 2018 - Sun., Jun. 3, 2018 )

Raleigh Little Theatre Gaddy-Goodwin Teaching Theatre, 301 Pogue Street, Raleigh, NC 27607

Program

Blood Done Sign My Name, by Mike Wiley, adapted from the novel by Tim Tyson:  In this world premiere version, Mike Wiley brings to life the recollections of author Tim Tyson sur-rounding the 1970 murder of Henry “Dickie” Marrow in Oxford, NC, and the events that followed. Marrow, who was black, was chased from a local store by three white men after reportedly making a crude remark to one of the men’s wives. They brutally beat Marrow, and then killed him with a bullet to the head in view of multiple witnesses. Despite the eyewitness reports, an all-white jury acquitted the men. The town’s black community responded to the events with an uprising that destroyed downtown businesses and several tobacco warehouses that held at least a million dollars in harvested crops.

Notes

For mature audiences.

Cost

$

More information

(919) 821-3111; boxoffice@raleighlittletheatre.org
http://raleighlittletheatre.org/

Series

RLT City Series

Dates

  • Friday, May 11, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 12, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, May 18, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, May 25, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 27, 2018 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, June 1, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 3:00 PM