Orchestral Music

NCSU Department of Music, Raleigh Civic Symphony Association: "Dance, Dance...Revolution!"

Related Articles

( Sun., Apr. 19, 2015 )

Performed by Raleigh Civic Symphony (Dr. Peter Askim, conductor)

Ballroom, Talley Student Center at NC State University, 2610 Cates Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27695


The program juxtaposes Johann Strauss, Jr.’s fin-de-siécle Imperial Vienna with Philip Glass’s portrayal of Akhnaten, the Egyptian ruler who instituted religious revolution only to be violently overthrown. Stravinsky’s Suite No. 1 filters traditional dance through the prism of a revolutionary in exile. Janáček’s Lachian Dances and Sibelius’ Valse Triste champion the character of their oppressed peoples, longing to unite under their own flag.

GLASS     Dance from Akhnaten

STRAVINSKY     Suite No. 1 for Small Orchestra

SIBELIUS     Valse Triste

JANÁČEK     Lachian Dances

STRAUSS, JR.     Kaiserwalzer


Cash or check only at door.


Adults $10; Seniors $8; NCSU Faculty/Staff/Non-NCSU Students $5; NCSU Students/Children 12 and Under Free

More information

Information: (919) 515-4603; Tickets: (919) 515-1100; www.raleighcivicsymphony.org


Music @ NC State


  • Sunday, April 19, 2015 at 4:00 PM