This preview has been provided by Duke Arts.

The Duke Department of Music, Office of the Vice Provost for the Arts and Sarah P. Duke Gardens are pleased to announce 2015 Ciompi Quartet Presents, a summer chamber music series in Duke Gardens.  This year the series celebrates its fourth season which, by all measures, has been a phenomenal success. Many of the concerts sell-out, audiences express delight during and after the concerts end, and the musicians continue to bring excellence in artistry coupled with greater knowledge about the composers and the music they create.  The central theme of these special concerts has been the intimate environment and the opportunity to hear from the Quartet their individual curatorial insights. This summer the series begins with a program presented by Eric Pritchard that explores connections between the Baroque and Classical music periods through works by the sons of J. S. Bach. Jonathan Bagg will present a musical study of contrasts – composers, styles and virtuosity, and Fred Raimi will end the series with a program featuring works by three of classical music’s greatest composers – Bach, Beethoven and Brahms. Join us and share the heart and soul of music that inspires and connects composers, musicians and audiences. Make the 2015 Ciompi Quartet Presents chamber music series one of your must-see events this summer.

Subscriptions are $60 and are on sale from May 5 through June 2.  

Single tickets are $25 General Public; $20 Non-Duke Students/Duke Employees; $10 Youth/Duke students. Single tickets go on sale beginning May 12.

Purchase tickets online at, in person at the Duke University Box Office, Bryan Center, weekdays 11am-6pm, or by calling 919-684-4444.

All concerts begin at 7:30pm and will take place in Kirby Horton Hall in the Doris Duke Center at Sarah P. Duke Gardens, 420 Anderson St, Durham, NC 27708.  Phone: 919-684-3698 for directions.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Eric Pritchard presents MOZART’S PLAYGROUND, a concert tracing the stylistic development of music from the Baroque period to the Classical era through works by the sons of J. S. Bach. Andrew Willis (fortepiano), renowned for his work in Baroque performance, will join Pritchard (violin) who will perform on baroque violin. Jonathan Bagg (viola) and Fred Raimi (cello) will also join Pritchard for this first concert in the summer series. Works will include C. P. E. Bach: Sonata in b minor for Keyboard and Violin, Wq76; J. C. Bach: Sonata in D Major for Keyboard and Violin, W B21; W. A. Mozart: Divertimento for String Trio in E-flat Major, K. 563.

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Jonathan Bagg presents LIGHT AND SHADOW a performance where the world of color, light and shadow emerge in three strings and a flute: music of Mozart contrasts with Andrew Norman, Gunther Schuller, and Stephen Jaffe in a concert that bursts with stylistic variety and virtuosity. Bagg (viola) is joined by Gabriela Diaz (violin), Laura Gilbert (flute) and Robert Burkhart (cello). Works will include W. A. Mozart:Flute quartet in D Major; Andrew Norman: Light Screens; Gunther Schuller: Aphorisms; Stephen Jaffe: Figure-Ground (premiere).

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Fred Raimi presents THREE Bs IN A MINOR KEY, an evening of great works by three of classical music’s greatest composers: Beethoven, Bach and Brahms. Raimi (cello) is joined by Rolf Schulte (violin), Kirsten Swanson (viola) and Jane Hawkins (piano). Works will include Bach:Sonata for Cello and Piano in g minor; Beethoven: String Trio in c minor, Op. 9, No. 3; Brahms: Piano Quartet in c minor, Op. 60.

More info at

Artists and program subject to change.  No ticket refunds. Parking is free after 5pm in Duke Gardens Parking lots. Note: Second violin Hsiao-mei Ku will be in China during summer with the Duke Engage program.

The series is presented by the Duke Department of Music, Office of the Vice Provost for the Arts and Sarah P. Duke Gardens.

ABOUT THE CIOMPI QUARTET:  The Ciompi Quartet was founded at Duke University in 1965 by the renowned Italian violinist Giorgio Ciompi.  All its members are professors at Duke and play a leading role in the cultural life of the university and community, in addition to traveling widely throughout the year for performances.

In a career that includes many hundreds of concerts and spans five continents, the Ciompi Quartet has developed a reputation for performances of real intelligence and musical sophistication, and for a warm, unified sound that is enhanced by each player’s strong individual voice. With a maturity and insight born of wide experience, the Ciompi Quartet projects the heart and soul of the music with a repertoire that ranges from well-known masterpieces to works by today’s most communicative composers.

For more information on the Ciompi Quartet: