IF CVNC.org CALENDAR and REVIEWS are important to you:

If you use the CVNC Calendar to find a performance to attend
If you read a review of your favorite artist
If you quote from a CVNC review in a program or grant application or press release

Now is the time to SUPPORT CVNC.org

Chamber Music Preview Print

Duke Music Department Opens 2019-20 Season with Faculty/Student Chamber Orchestra Concert

September 14 concert in Baldwin Auditorium

Laura Rose

Thomas Meglioranza

Event  Information

Durham -- ( Sat., Sep. 14, 2019 )

Duke University Department of Music: Duke University Faculty and Student Chamber Orchestra
Performed by Duke Students and Faculty; Director Rodney Wynkoop, Thomas Meglioranza, baritone
Free -- Baldwin Auditorium , (919) 684-4444 , http://www.tickets.duke.edu -- 8:00 PM

September 14, 2019 - Durham, NC:

This preview has been provided by Duke Music Department.

This faculty/student chamber orchestra concert is the official opening of the Duke Music Department's 2019-20 season and is a much-anticipated event. Admission is free.

Described in The New Yorker as an "immaculate and inventive recitalist," American baritone Thomas Meglioranza has performed with many of America's leading orchestras including the National Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Boston Symphony, MET Chamber Ensemble, and the Houston Symphony, among others.

Stephen Jaffe is Mary D.B.T. and James H. Semans Professor of Music Composition at Duke University and a member of the American Academy of Arts & Letters.

Rodney Wynkoop is director of the Duke Chorale and Director of Performance in the Duke University Department of Music.


Johannes Brahms: Serenade in D Major, Op. 11
arranged for a septet of winds and strings

Jo Kondo: "Still Life" for 8 violins

Stephen Jaffe: "Pedal Point"
with baritone soloist Thomas Meglioranza and a consort of low instruments, conducted by Rodney Wynkoop

Faculty performers include:

Laura Byrne (harp)

Eric Pritchard (violin)

Hsiao-mei Ku (violin)

Jonathan Bagg (viola)

Caroline Stinson (cello)

John Brown (bass)

Carla Copeland-Burns (flute)

Jimmy Gilmore (clarinet)

Rachel Niketopoulos (horn)

Julia Thompson (percussion)