Orchestral Music Preview Print

Greensboro Symphony and Conductor Dmitry Sitkovetsky Presents German Romantics

Nikita Mndoyants, First Prize Winner of the 2016 Cleveland Competition!

provided by the GSO

Nikita Mndoyants

Event  Information

Greensboro -- ( Thu., Nov. 9, 2017 - Sat., Nov. 11, 2017 )

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra: Nikita Mndoyants, piano
Performed by Greensboro Symphony (Dmitry Sitkovetsky, music director); Nikita Mndoyants, piano
$46; $40; $34; Students $6 -- Dana Auditorium , (336) 335-5456, ext. 224; boxoffice@greensborosymphony.org , http://www.greensborosymphony.org/

November 9, 2017 - Greensboro, NC:

This preview has been provided by the Greensboro Symphony.

"There comes a time when a rising talent comes onto the scene so polished that there isn't much to say other than to simply applaud it. Such is the case in the Carnegie Hall debut of Nikita Mndoyants…" – Donald Hunt, Pianist Magazine.

Don't miss a dynamic concert featuring Nikta Mndoyants, piano wunderkind and winner of the 2016 Cleveland International Piano Competition! Mndoyants will perform the Brahms Piano Concerto #1 on November 9th and 11th at 8:00 p.m., followed by a performance of Beethoven's beloved Symphony #7 with the full Greensboro Symphony. The GSO returns to Dana Auditorium for this thrilling concert of Germanic masterpieces, presented in honor of the 500th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation.

Brahms's sweeping Piano Concerto #1 depicts sudden and emotional turmoil, reflective of the upheaval in Brahms's life. A beloved piece of the standard repertoire, the concerto oscillates wildly between the intimacy of a solo piano piece and the unrestrained power of the full Romantic-size orchestra.

Among the most popular of the orchestral repertoire, Beethoven's Symphony #7 was premiered at a concert for wounded soldiers during the Napoleonic wars. Though the symphony has no name, subtitle or "program," the second movement has assumed a revered position as one of the most recognizable and stirring marches in the repertoire, while the rest of the symphony is markedly animated and joyful.

  Dmitry Sitkovetsky, conductor
  Nikita Mndoyants, Piano
  The Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

  Tanger Outlets Masterworks Series - German Romantics
  Piano Concerto No.1 op.15 D-minor Johannes Brahms
  Symphony No.8 F-major Ludwig Van Beethoven

  November 9, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
  November 11, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.

  Dana Auditorium
  Guilford College
  710 Levi Coffin Dr.
  Greensboro, NC 27410

  GSO Box Office: 336-335-5456 x224

  Price: $46, $40, $34, Students $6


  Thursday, November 09, 2017

    Cone Health

  Saturday, November 11, 2017

    Norman B. Smith, L.L.B. 
    Carolyn Turner Smith, Ph.D 
    In honor of the 500th anniversary of the Reformation

For more information please visit the Greensboro Symphony at their website.