Board of Directors and Staff

CVNC is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization with a board that is representative of our community's experienced and knowledgeable arts and journalism leaders.

  • Colin Campbell (Wake County) - Chair
  • Jim Waddelow, DMA (Wake County) - Vice Chair
  • Irene Burke (Watauga County) - Treasurer
  • Lawrence Bivins (Wake County)
  • Elizabeth Thompson (Orange County)
  • Kelsey Carlisle (Surry County)

Under the leadership and guidance of our founding directors, we prepared our bylaws, obtained our incorporation papers and our tax ID number, secured the blessings of the NC Department of Revenue, and sought IRS approval of our 501(c)3 application, which we received on December 17, 2002.

CVNC's day-to-day leadership is headed up by our staff:

  • Andrea McKerlie Luke, Executive Director
  • Maggie Pate, Editor in Chief
  • Chelsea Huber, Music and Dance Editor
  • Matthew Hager, Theatre Editor and Intern Coordinator
  • Tanner Benson, Calendar Editor
  • Sarah Thompson, Calendar Editor (begins Jan. 2023)